Assign translation work with Jobs

Jobs are a great way to organize your team’s translation workload. You can define what to work on, define deadline and briefing while we will make sure everyone knows what to do.

Create a new job

To start a new job, go to the “Jobs” section of your project and click “New Job”:

  • Provide your team with context by adding a job briefing and a due date
  • Select keys that should be part of this job by searching for keys or tags and easily add them to the job
  • Choose the locales that should be part of the job and assign users

Click “Continue” to review the job details and then “Start Job” to actually start the job. This will send a notification to each user that is part of the job and mark it as “in progress”.

To speed things up, you can also duplicate an existing job, which will copy all assigned locales, users, briefing and deadline.

Batch-assign keys to an existing or new job

You assign keys to an existing or new job by selecting the checkbox next to the key names from your search results. If you hold down the Shift key you can select all keys between your first and second selection. Alternatively, you can also use the "Select all search results" checkbox at the top to select all keys from your search query. From the list of batch-actions you can select "Add to existing job" and choose a job from the drop-down or "Create new job" to create a new job based on your selection.

Working on a job

The “Translate” link in the email notification or on the job detail page will open the keys assigned to the job in the translation editor. Translators can perform their translation work as usual and click “Mark locale as completed” once they’re finished. When working on a job, due date and briefing are always present.

A realtime report of the progress is available on the job’s detail page and shows immediately how much work is still left.

 

Commenting on a job

If you need to discuss with your team members about the job, you can do this right on the job page. You can mention single colleague by typing @username. If you want to send a notification to every team member working on this job use @job.

Completing a job

When all locales of a job were marked as completed, PhraseApp will send a notification to the job owner. After reviewing the translation work, the owner can then mark the whole job as “completed”. Last, we will inform all translators assigned to the job that it is now completed.
 

Updating a job

You can still modify most details of a job, even after the job was started. Add or remove keys from the job directly within the translation editor:

 

Reopen a job

In case you have closed a job (or locale) by accident, you can reopen it with a single click. This will also notify the assigned translators via email.

Download a job

You can download the workload of a job for each language e.g. in order to use it with external tools or send it to an outside collaborator. Simply choose "Download XLIFF" or "Customize Download" to get a file including the keys and translations from that specific job.

 

Did this answer your question?