Autopilot

Autopilot is currently in beta and available in the Quality Package

With Autopilot, you can automatically translate new keys, locales or files into multiple languages directly after uploading them to PhraseApp. Using translation memory and machine translation, it allows you to have all your translations ready with a single click.

How to enable Autopilot

Before you can use AutoPilot you have to enable the feature at the very bottom of the Project Settings for each project where you want to work with Autopilot.

Currently, there are three possible ways in which Autopilot can help you accelerate your translation workflow. It is vital that you select at least one of these options in the Autopilot tab of your project settings.

  • Translate new keys automatically
  • Translate new uploads automatically
  • Translate new locales automatically

You can also let Autopilot mark new translations as unverified so you know it either requires proofreading or revision by a translator. In addition, you can choose to use machine translation for filling out the missing translations your translation memory didn’t return. The slider at the bottom of the menu lets you adjust how accurate or broad the translation memory matches should be. Click save to adopt your settings.

Your workflow with Autopilot

1. Autopilot for new added keys

When adding a new key from within the translation editor you need to make sure that you enter the default translation of your source locale for this key. Otherwise Autopilot cannot provide your with an automated translation for your target locales. For each key you’re adding, you can individually disable Autopilot, in case you don’t want to have it translated automatically.

After saving your new key and select any of your target locales in the translation editor, Autopilot will already have inserted all of the respective translations for you.

2. Autopilot for new added locales

When you’re adding a new locale to your project, you can use Autopilot to prefill all the translations for this new language. You can disable Autopilot in the Add Locale menu anytime, if you don’t want your added locale to be translated automatically. After saving your locale, the progress overview then indicates that all the keys you have set in your project are now unverified keys of your new language. If the locale progress bar doesn’t update in an instant, Autopilot might take another brief moment to have all the translations processed and ready for you in the background. You can click on your new locale and start post-editing right away.

3. Autopilot for new uploaded language files

When you upload a language file to your project you can choose to use Autopilot or disable it for this very upload, in case you do not wish to have your file(s) translated automatically.

When Autopilot is enabled, the uploaded keys will be automatically translated into all languages of your project. You can start editing the prefilled translations for all your keys of all your locales you have set up in your project to this point.

Post-editing workflow

The translations generated by Autopilot are set to be unverified by default. You can subsequently post-edit the translations to achieve your desired translation quality. You can learn more on verification and proofreading workflows here.

Autopilot reporting

If you also have the Control Package, in the extended statistics section of your Reports tab you’re be able to continuously track and optimize how automatic translation fits best in your individual translation process.

Autopilot search filter

You can find Autopilot translations in the translation editor easily via search filter. You can combine all available filters.

API support for Autopilot

Beyond using Autopilot when creating keys and locales or uploading files within PhraseApp, you’re able to trigger automatic translations when adding translations via the API or via our command line client. This will speed up your workflow even further.

FAQs

Where can I find the Autopilot settings?

You can find the Autopilot settings in your project settings.

How do I turn it off?

You can turn off Autopilot for your entire project in your project settings anytime. When adding a new key, locale or uploading a language file, you can turn it off for each of those actions individually.

Where do the translations come from?

  • If Autopilot is enabled, the translation will automatically be delivered by the translation memory, if it detects keys you have already used in your projects. You can choose which projects may use the account-wide translation memory in your translation memory configuration.
  • If Autopilot is enabled with the option “use machine translation” and translations cannot be delivered by the translation memory, they will be delivered by the machine translation service you have set in the machine translation tab of your account detail settings.

Which machine translation services are available?

We currently support machine translation via Google Translate and Microsoft Translator (default). You can select the service of your choice in your account details.

How does Autopilot influence my overall machine translation contingent?

Regardless of the service you choose, all our customers get 1M characters for free/month. You can view your current count and the start date of the next cycle in your account details.

I have selected “enable autopilot”, why doesn’t it work?

You must additionally select at least one of the following Autopilot options in your project settings:

  • Translate new keys automatically
  • Translate new uploads automatically
  • Translate new locales automatically

I want to add several locales directly after each other but the autotranslation seems to be stuck at a certain point. Why?

For the time being, we recommend to let Autopilot translate one locale at a time. Using Autopilot when adding multiple locales within a short time will be possible in future versions.

Did this answer your question?